Cactus Cultivars

Author Topic: Grafting Aztekium  (Read 3971 times)

Offline FishyFissu

Grafting Aztekium
« on: Monday, 17 March 2014 - 09:49:42 »
Newbie here,sorry if this isn't done according to protocol,i hope this is the most "accurate" place to post this.
It seems everyone in this forum is very experienced and that there are no new growers asking basic questions,so i will do my best not to ask questions that are too dumb.

I am very new to grafting,and i need all the help i can get.
I want to graft Aztekium ritteri and hintonii this season (1.5 year old seedlings) and i have several questions:

1. Which stock would be better for Aztekium?I have pereskiopsis,selenicereus and hylocereus undatus (but none are in grafting form).
2. When should i start preparing the stock for grafting,and how to do so?
3. how do i know if the stock is ready and ideal?
4. When would be the best time temperature wise to graft?i live in israel,so the weather gets nice around the end of april early may.
5. And in what technique?they're just so small!

I grafted some copiapoa on pereskiopsis last year and they turned out quite weird,very elongated.
I think in general it's harder for me to handle pereskiopsis because as i understand they require much much more water than other cacti,so i don't know how to treat them.

Please assume i know nothing and have no prior knowledge to grafting,because sadly that is very close to the truth...
I guess what i'm asking here is a full set of instructions on how to go about it(:

« Last Edit: Monday, 17 March 2014 - 09:53:31 by FishyFissu »

Offline Carlo & Daniele

• Admin
    • Picasa - Carlo & Daniele
Re: Grafting Aztekium
« Reply #1 on: Monday, 17 March 2014 - 23:24:32 »
Hello and welcome on board!
If you are new on grafting, first of all I'd suggest you to start with easier species...astros are far more easy to graft than aztekium. 1.5 y.o. means how many mm?